Feihong Song and Christina Erken were invited to join the 70th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting

Lindau Nobel Laureate Conference takes place at the end of June with about 70 Nobel Laureates and 650 young scientists.

Anna Nalepa, former PhD Student at MPI CEC, at the Nobel Laureate Meeting in Lindau 2016 with Prof. Martin Karplus, who received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 2013.

Christina Erken, PhD student in the group 'Metalorganic Electrocatalysis' in the department 'Molecular Catalysis' (Prof. Dr. Walter Leitner) and Feihong Song, PhD student in Dr. Anna Mechler's group for 'Electrocatalysis' in the 'Heterogeneous Reactions' department (Prof. Dr. Robert Schlögl) have been invited to participate in the 70th Nobel Laureate Meeting in Lindau.

The Nobel Laureate Meeting is an annual scientific conference that has been held in the city of Lindau on Lake Constance since 1951. Every summer, 40-50 Nobel Laureates meet there with outstanding young scientists from all over the world to exchange ideas. In this way, the globally recognized event aims to promote scientific exchange between scientists of different generations, disciplines and cultures.

This year, only 650 most qualified applicants will have the opportunity to experience and share the unique atmosphere of the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings.

Christina Erken is currently researching the synthesis of organometallic complexes and their application in transformation of carbon-based feedstocks. Feihong Song currently works on the development of free-standing carbon electrodes for the oxygen evolution reaction in alkaline electrolyzers. Both of them feel incredibly honored to have been selected and are looking forward to the meeting in Lindau at the end of June with great enthusiasm.

All of us at MPI CEC wish Christina Erken and Feihong Song a thoroughly productive and enjoyable experience and look forward to hearing their report of the event.

In previous years, numerous young scientists from MPI CEC have been selected to participate in the conference, many who have continued on to illustrious careers in science.